The magic of Mount Taranaki

New post on Wilderness Coffee & Natural High!

See the full story on my new website: www.wildernesscoffee-naturalhigh.com → Ode to the mountains – The magic of Mount Taranaki.

As long as I can remember, I have always been fascinated by mountains. Especially of the fire-spewing kind. Perhaps because of the total absence of them in my home country… or perhaps it’s something more. The awe-inspiring beauty and majesty of them. The mysterious lure of hidden valleys and adventurous trails beyond.

New Zealand

New Zealand is one of those places I will never get tired of bumbling around. Mount Taranaki looms majestically over New Plymouth, on ithe west coast of the North Island. I was on my way to Tongariro National Park, and then it suddenly came into view.

Mount Taranaki, majestically rising up in the distance, North Island, New Zealand

When she comes to greet me

The mountain that was hardly ever visible. The elusive Mount Taranaki, shrouded by its own mysterious low-hanging clouds for most days of the year. But now it stood there, clearly visible, and beckoning in all its glory. It took my breath away, and I couldn’t resist. It was calling me and I had to go.

This is a short summary. Read the full story (with more pictures!) on Ode to the mountains – The magic of Mount Taranaki.

I literally skidded to a halt and changed my course and planning there & then. The next morning I got up at ridiculous o’ clock, and saw one of the most beautiful sunrises I’ve ever seen, on a majestic and completely cloudless Mount Taranaki, straight from the front of my tent.

Sunrise on Mount Taranaki, North Island, New Zealand

The magic of Mount Taranaki. Sunrise on the completely cloudless volcano.

Mount Taranaki isn’t for the faint hearted. The altitude gain is nearly 1600 metres from the start of the track to the summit, at 2518 metres. It takes about 10 hours to go there & back again, along a very steep stratovolcanic path.

Steep stratovolcanic paths

Steep stratovolcanic paths.

Something must have happened on Mount Taranaki that made a deep impression. It was like a force of nature that can’t be explained.

Read all about it, see how to get there & other practicalities on Ode to the mountains – The magic of Mount Taranaki.

(c) Nancy Claus – Wilderness Coffee & Natural High

Follow the Wilderness Coffee & Natural High page on Facebook for more stories and updates.

Valley of clouds

As I walk through the valley of the shadow of clouds, I shall fear no heights ;-)


More stories & inspiration

Tongariro – The track across Middle Earth

Fimmvörðuháls – The fiery pass across Eyjafjallajökull

The walking track to Blátindur – The dazzling heights of Dalfjall

Haleakala – The House of the Rising Sun

The Vierdaagse of Nijmegen – Four days of long-distance trials & tribulations


This story on Facebook

This story on LinkedIn

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.